How and when did you first get involved with horses?

I owned my first horse when I was six years old — a Pony of America (POA) named Fiesta.  That same year, my mom, sister and I moved into a house on a property whose owners boarded horses.  I was responsible for helping to care for and exercise the horses.  My favorite horse, Little Joe, was a Quarter Horse / Thoroughbred who was definitely not ‘Little’ — he was 17 hands tall.  Little Joe set the bar high for the horses I have been attracted to ever since — geldings who are tall and very handsome.

Do you have one now you want to tell us about? 

Unfortunately, I do not have a horse now.  My husband and I are in the permit phase for building a house on 20 acres in the Tolt River Highlands (outside of Carnation).  We plan to wait a few years after the house is completed to clear some land for a barn and pastures.  We will then adopt two horses — most likely Tennessee Walkers — and enjoy trail riding on and near our property. 

What do you like most about volunteering with SAFE? 

I appreciate the re-introduction to horse care that I can apply when I have my own horses.  Spending time at SAFE also fills the void of not having my own horses.  Additionally, it is nice to be around people who have a common interest.  For a few years, I was managing SAFE’s Open Houses.  I look forward to when we can resume hosting these events. 

Do you have a favorite SAFE horse? If so, why?  

I actually have two: Cyrus and Jasper (as I previously mentioned, I like tall geldings!) Cyrus has been my favorite SAFE horse since his arrival.  It has been amazing to watch his recovery.  Unfortunately, he doesn’t pay much attention to me (unless I have food for him).  Jasper quickly won my heart with his beauty and his curiosity.  He has been much more responsive to my attempts to communicate with him. 

What do you do when you are not horsing around with us?  

Professionally, I am the Membership Director with Seattle Yacht Club, focusing on member relations and sales/marketing.  My job allows me a great work-life balance.  During my off time, I enjoy the outdoors with friends and family — skiing and snowshoeing in the winter and hiking and trail riding in the summer. 

Do you have family or special people in your life who support your volunteer work that you would want us to mention in your write up? 

My husband, Glover, has been very supportive of my work with SAFE.  Of course, he also understands that SAFE is giving me my horse fix and delaying the large expense of owing our own horses.